Sawtellian & Young Sawtellian

of the Year 2021

Sawtellian of the Year has been running for many years being awarded each New Year’s Day at the Sawtell Super Fun Day at the Village Green, BIG4 Sawtell Beach Holiday Park.

For the first time the Young Sawtellian of the Year was introduced for 2021. The inaugural award for the Young Sawtellian of the Year is for young achievers who have made an outstanding contribution to the community of Sawtell in 2020.


Award Categories:


  • Sawtellian of the Year

  • Young Sawtellian of the Year

Award Criteria:

1. Demonstrated contribution to the Sawtell community.


2. Demonstrated achievements of the nominee.


3. Demonstrated qualities (including but not limited to, positive attitude, supportive and  (attitude, supportive, initiative) in their role as a sport or recreational volunteer.


4. Demonstrated evidence of innovation, initiative or obstacles which the nominee may have had to overcome to achieve their outcomes.

Mick Migavigan
2021 Sawtellian of the Year

Mick has been a volunteer with the Sawtell Surf Life Saving Club for the past 20 years, donating his time 7 days per week, 365 days per year keeping the clubhouse, lawns and gardens in sparkling condition for the enjoyment of the local community and visitors
Margaret (Maggie)
2021 Young Sawtellian
of the Year

Maggie has been training with the Sawtell Surf Club since the age of 5, has been a volunteer patrol member for the past 4 years and trains Nippers each Sunday.
She is a keen competitor in many surfing events participated in the 24-your Row raising money and awareness for Mental Health, winning the 2020 Irown Women event at the Manly Carnival, 1 st place in the board and Ironwomen events and 3rd in the swim at the SLS Cpuntry Championsips. Maggie won the Sawtell Rookie of the Year for 2018/19 and received the award for the best competitor in 2019/20.

Sawtellian of the Year Recipients

2021 - Mick Migavigan

2020 - Jill Nash

2019 - Graham King

2018 - Norelle Reeves

2017 - Arthur Smart

2016 - Paul Shuttleworth

2015 - William (Bill) Singleton

2014 - Neville Learmonth

2013 - Douglas "Kojak" Duncombe

2012 - Phil Jacobson

2011 - Gwen Herdegen

2010 - Terry de Carle

2009 - Norma Romeril

2008 - Jack Spencer

2007 - Lorraine White

2006 - Maureen Trezise

2005 - Jim Cross

2004 - Ian Hodges

2003 - Bob Leayr

2002 - Peter Turner

2001 - Keith Rhoades

2000 - Marie McGuire

1999 - Tom Kermode

1998 - Dot Rowe

1997 - Bok Rowe

1996 - Margaret Higgins

1995 - Colleen Goodwin

1994 - Pam Worland

1993 - Harry Weller

1992 - David Jones

1991 - Rhonda Hudson

1990 - Rex Hardaker

1989 - Betty Hobbs

1988 - Ray Hillery

1987 - Mick Stanley

Young Sawtellian of the Year Recipients

2021 - Margaret (Maggie) McConnachie